First Came Smartphones, Now Come Smart Books

As if smartphones don’t already do enough thinking for you, now they will be equipped to assist with your reading.

According to this article by the L.A. Times, Atria will begin publishing books with smart chips inside. They will be compatible with NFC-enabled (Near Field Communication) smartphones to provide additional materials for the book.

Right now, the concept is mostly functioning as a marketing tool. Shoppers can use their phones at the bookstore to see what else the books have to offer. The ability to interactively connect with the book lures in the buyer, instantly sparking further interest in the material.

So if books that might otherwise be overlooked start to use this technology, they might do better in sales than anticipated. Though the author of the article brings up a few good points.

I guess this makes me old-fashioned: the way I decide to buy a book in a bookstore is to pick it up and look inside. Would it be possible for a book with a smart chip that adds enhanced content, rather than marketing? How could it be packaged if the book is sitting there on the shelf, easy to flip through?

The first smart book Atria is publishing is The Impulse Economy: Understanding Mobile Shoppers and What Makes Them Buy by Gary Schwartz.

What do you think? If a book were a “smart book,” would you be more inclined to buy it?

1 Comment

Filed under News Articles

One response to “First Came Smartphones, Now Come Smart Books

  1. I was thrilled when online book sites began to allow the consumer to look inside the book and read parts or chapters of a book. Most of my book buyer is online with the exception of library book sales. Like the comment in the article, I can’t imagine anything else I need to know about the book to encourage me to purchase it but I may be surprised. However, I don’t own a smart phone and don’t see one in my future, so this technology doesn’t excite me much. Because I didn’t grow up with computers, I am less likely to see the need for this technology, I guess.

Leave a Reply

