Controversy Over Book Using ‘Modern Family’ Photo

When you think of the TV show Modern Family, you don’t typically think of the show’s families as an accurate portrayal for religious Christian people. Modern Family, of course, portrays families with gay couples and adopted children.

So when Christian preacher and author Doug Sehone used a photo of the cast for the cover of his e-book Bible Principles of Child Discipline, it caused quite an uproar. According to TV Guide, Doug Sehorne used the photo, featuring actors Ty Burrell and Julie Bowen, not knowing that they were, in fact, actors from a television show. His friends pointed out to him that the family on the cover was from a TV show that didn’t necessarily emphasize strictly religious Christian values. He took to Facebook to explain exactly what happened:

“1. I do not even have a TV and have not for 35 years.

2. I never heard of the TV show.

3. I got the image from a search on Google Images, which I assumed were not copyrighted, etc.

4. Anyone who knows me, knows I would never condone such wickedness as sodomy or even TV.”

Sehorne is now removing the book and changing its cover.

Would love to hear your comments on this one!

20130901-080950.jpg

4 Comments

Filed under News Articles

4 responses to “Controversy Over Book Using ‘Modern Family’ Photo

  1. Liz E

    I think my favorite part here is this quote:
    “I got the image from a search on Google Images, which I assumed were not copyrighted…”
    You’ve got to be kidding me.

  2. NO ONE OWNS THE IMAGES ON GOOGLE. FREE IMAGE PARTY! Puh-lease.

  3. bc

    “I would never condone such wickedness as sodomy or even TV.”

    …but Facebook is okay

    smh

  4. Clever Chestnut

    Yeah… it’s no wonder this person hasnt grown as a human being. Must be hard living under that rock for such a long time.

Leave a Reply

