The 3 Major Problems With the ‘Fifty Shades’ Trailer

It’s the moment we’ve all been waiting for. Finally, yesterday The Today Show debuted the trailer for the new screen adaptation of the bestselling novel Fifty Shades of Grey.

While most of the online reactions consisted of women sweating it out, me…not so much. Let’s discuss.

First of all, as I recall, Ana Steele is not supposed to be frumpy. In the trailer, we see her wearing a flower-printed top that in one respect could be considered hipster-y, in another respect, it looks like something my grandmother would wear. Combined with her sweater, unflattering skirt and ragged ponytail, I’m going with the “grandmother look” on this one. No, she’s not supposed to be a hot little sex kitten in the beginning, but again, she’s not supposed to be frumpy either.

Secondly, the music in this trailer. The music sounds like something that would be used in a trailer for a thriller — not a sex movie. With each cut, I kept waiting for Christian Grey to whip out a knife to stab her — and not in a sexy way. The music selection was simply odd. To be fair, I know it was a clip of the exclusive Beyoncé track, and I’m all for that, but it does sound scary, not sexy.

And speaking of the sex, we only get a glimpse at the very end of the trailer into how sexy this movie might actually be. Most of the trailer makes the movie look romantic. Even when we do see some of the steamier clips, they’re simply not that steamy. It doesn’t look like there’s much chemistry between the actors.

There’s no doubt I will see this movie. I read the book, and the move is bound to be a phenomenon (especially since it comes out on Valentine’s Day, 2015 and will also mean the release of an exclusive Beyoncé track), but after seeing the trailer, I’m not so sure I’m excited about it. Get back to me when we find out whether or not it will be rated NC-17.

Leave a comment

Filed under News Articles

Leave a Reply

